Anglican Church of Australia Diocese of Sydney

St Andrew's House Sydney Square NSW 2000 Telephone (02) 9265 1555 PO Box Q190 QVB Post Office NSW 1230 Website: www.sds.asn.au

24 February 2020

Notice to Members of the 51st Synod

Resignation of the Most Rev Dr Glenn N Davies as Archbishop of Sydney

On 17 February 2020, Archbishop Glenn Davies provided notice of his resignation with effect from 20 July 2020 to the Standing Committee of the Synod. The Standing Committee subsequently made a resolution under subclause 2(2) of the *Archbishop of Sydney's Election Ordinance 1982* (the Ordinance) declaring that the See of Sydney will be vacant from that date.

I am writing on behalf of the Archbishop to provide notice of the vacancy in accordance with subclause 5(1) of the Ordinance.

It is anticipated that a special session of the 51st Synod, to elect the next Archbishop of Sydney, will be held from **10-14 August 2020**. A summons to that special session of Synod, along with information on the making of nominations and the appointment of alternates, will be sent to members of the (51st) Synod by the end of April 2020.

Parochial Representatives and Nominated Laypersons

The Synod Membership Ordinance 1995 at subclauses 18(1), 46(1) provides that Parochial Representatives and Nominated Laypersons continue to be members of the Synod until the day before the first day of the first ordinary session of the next Synod. As a consequence:

- Representatives of parishes and Nominated Laypersons for the ordinary sessions of Synod held in 2017-2019 continue to be members of the Synod until 11 October 2020 and will be summoned to the special session of Synod to be held in August 2020
- Representatives elected at parish Annual General Meetings in 2020 become members of the 52nd Synod, which commences on 12 October 2020.

Kind regards

DANIEL GLYNN **Diocesan Secretary**