Provisional Notice of Contested Elections 1st Ordinary Session of 51st Synod

In accordance with rule 3.2A(1) of the Schedule to the Synod Elections Ordinance 2000, I advise that the number of persons nominated for election to the offices shown in the attached Provisional Schedule of Contested Elections exceeds the number of persons to be elected to those offices.

Submission of Précis

I now invite the submission of a précis setting out the relevant qualifications, skills, experience and Christian ministry involvement of each nominee for the election. The précis may be delivered no later than 5.00pm on the précis closing date of **Monday 18 September 2017**.

Under rule 3.3 (1) of the Schedule to the Synod Elections Ordinance 2000 a précis of a nominee is -

- (a) to be not more than 35 words in length, and
- (b) to be signed by the nominee.

A form of précis is attached although any document which complies with rule 3.3(1) is in order.

Withdrawal of Nomination

Under rule 3.4 of the Schedule to the *Synod Elections Ordinance 2000* a nominee may withdraw from the election if written notice signed by the nominee is received by the Secretary no later than 5.00pm on the précis closing date of **Monday 18 September 2017**.

Submitting Précis or Withdrawal of Nomination

A précis or withdrawal of nomination can be submitted by post to -

The Secretary of Synod PO Box Q190 QVB POST OFFICE SYDNEY NSW 1230

or as a scanned email attachment to synodelections@sydney.anglican.asn.au.

R J WICKS
Secretary of Synod

30 August 2017

Attachments

Provisional schedule of elections Précis form

As at: 30 August 2017 Page 1 of 3

Provisional schedule of contested elections 1st Ordinary Session of 51st Synod

Election No	Offices / Name of Nominee	Residential suburb	Year first elected (if seeking re election)	First nominator	Second nominator		
9.	THE COUNCIL OF ABBOTSLEIGH (Abbotsleigh Ordinance 1924)						
	1 layman, elected for 1 year.						
	Mr Colin Anderson	NORMANHURST		The Rev Colin D Watson	Mr John Driver		
	Mr Christopher Janssen	WARRAWEE		The Rev Gavin M Poole	The Rev Jason L Ramsay		
39.	STANDING COMMITTEE - PERSONS ELECTED BY SOUTH SYDNEY REGION (Standing Committee Ordinance 1897)						
	2 qualified ministers, who are not ex-officio members of Standing Committee, elected for 3 years by the regional electors of the South Sydney Region.						
	The Rev Andrew R Bruce	ST PETERS		Mr Paul Marquet	The Rev Caitlin Hurley		
	The Rev Andrew P Katay	ASHFIELD	2005	Dr Laurence A Scandrett	The Rev Caitlin Hurley		
	Canon Kevin M Kim	STRATHFIELD		The Rev Caitlin Hurley	Miss Joanna K Warren		
	The Rev Justin M Moffatt	MILLERS POINT	2014	The Rev James E H Harricks	The Rev Scott Newling		

Secretary of Synod

30 August 2017

As at: 30 August 2017 Page 2 of 3

Précis of nominee in a Synod election

Surname: First name(s):				
2.	3.	4.	5.	
7.	8.	9.	10.	
12.	13.	14.	15.	
17.	18.	19.	20.	
22.	23.	24.	25.	
27.	28.	29.	30.	
32.	33.	34.	35.	
	2. 7. 12. 22. 27.	2. 3. 7. 8. 12. 13. 17. 18. 22. 23. 27. 28.	2. 3. 4. 7. 8. 9. 12. 13. 14. 17. 18. 19. 22. 23. 24. 27. 28. 29.	

Signature of Nominee:	Date:
Name:(ple	ease print)

This form is to be completed and signed by the Nominee and returned by post to -

The Secretary of Synod PO Box Q190 QVB Post Office, SYDNEY NSW 1230 OR

as a scanned email attachment to synodelections@sydney.anglican.asn.au

By 5:00pm on Monday 18 September 2017

Please use BLOCK LETTERS and one word only per box

As at: 30 August 2017 Page 3 of 3