# Elections for the 2004 session of the 46th Synod

### **Uncontested Elections**

In accordance with clause 4.1 of the Schedule to the Synod Elections Ordinance 2000, we hereby certify that the following nominations of persons are not in excess of the number of persons required to be elected.

# 1. STANDING COMMITTEE - Persons Elected by Synod

(Ordinance 1897)

1 qualified minister elected for 1 year

The Rev C J Moroney

1 qualified layperson elected for 1 year

Mr R A Webb

#### 2. ST ANDREW'S CATHEDRAL CHAPTER

(Ordinance 1969)

1 Lay Canon, being a male or female communicant of the Anglican Church of Australia resident within the Diocese of Sydney, elected for 5 years

Mr P J Heath

1 Lay Canon, being a male or female communicant of the Anglican Church of Australia resident within the Diocese of Sydney, elected for 1 year

Mr J T Scott

#### 3. THE COUNCIL OF ABBOTSLEIGH

(Ordinance 1925)

1 clergyman elected for 4 years

The Rev S G E Smith

2 laywomen elected for 4 years

Mrs E Neal Mrs W Tong

2 laymen elected for 4 years

Mr P Bradhurst

Mr M M Middlebrook

# 4. SYDNEY ANGLICAN HOME MISSION SOCIETY (ANGLICARE)

(Ordinance 1981)

3 persons elected for 3 years

Mr D Barnsdall

Mr D R Lewarne

Mr D Wallace

# 5. ANGLICAN RETIREMENT VILLAGES DIOCESE OF SYDNEY

(Ordinance 1961)

2 persons elected for 3 years

Mr A Fife

Dr J Yeo

### 6. ANGLICAN YOUTH AND EDUCATION DIVISION DIOCESE OF SYDNEY (YOUTHWORKS)

(Ordinance 1997)

1 member of the clergy elected for 3 years

The Rev M P Jensen

1 layperson elected for 3 years

Mr R Webb

#### 7. ARDEN ANGLICAN SCHOOL COUNCIL

(Ordinance 1962)

4 persons, at least two of whom are to be clergymen, elected for 3 years

Mr C Burton

The Rev G N Collison

Mr A Harper

The Rev R W Green

### 8. ARUNDEL HOUSE COUNCIL

(Ordinance 1977)

5 persons elected for 3 years

Ms C Andrews

Dr M Myerscough

Mrs J Shead

Mr J Watson

Vacancy to be filled

### 9. BARKER COLLEGE, THE COUNCIL OF

(Ordinance 1978)

2 members of the clergy elected for 3 years

The Rev Dr R Chilton

The Rev M J Crichton

2 laypersons elected for 3 years

Mrs A M Judd

Mr I C Miller

#### 10. CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR MINISTERS, COUNCIL FOR

(Ordinance 1989)

1 clergyman, being an incumbent of an ecclesiastical unit, elected for 3 years

The Rev P L Hayward

1 layperson elected for 3 years

Mr N Hatton

#### 11. DIOCESAN TRIBUNAL - SUPPLEMENTAL LIST

(Ordinance 1962)

1 layperson elected for 1 year

Mrs G Davidson

#### 12. DIOCESAN REPRESENTATIVES ON GENERAL SYNOD

(Ordinance 1986)

4 members of the clergy elected for 1 year

The Rev Dr P G Bolt

The Rev Dr A J B Cameron

Archdeacon-1 D K Howell

Bishop I Y Lee

### 13. THE ILLAWARRA GRAMMAR SCHOOL, THE COUNCIL OF

(Ordinance 1958)

1 clergyman elected for 4 years

The Rev S G Barrett

2 laypersons elected for 4 years

Mr D W Burrows Mrs E McIntyre

### 14. MACARTHUR ANGLICAN SCHOOL COUNCIL

(Ordinance 1982)

2 persons elected for 3 years

Dr A K Beavis

Mr G R S Kyngdon

## 15. THE MISSION TO SEAFARERS, SYDNEY PORT COMMITTEE

(Synod Resolution 10/63)

1 person elected for 1 year

The Rev R C Cameron

# 16. MOORE THEOLOGICAL COLLEGE COUNCIL

(Ordinance 1984)

2 clergymen elected for 3 years

Bishop G N Davies

The Rev S R Gibson

2 laypersons elected for 3 years

Mr J E Creelman

Dr W J Hurditch

# 17. ST CATHERINE'S SCHOOL WAVERLEY, COUNCIL OF

(Ordinance 1922)

1 clergyman elected for 4 years

The Rev R Lane

2 laymen elected for 4 years

Mr I Hespe

Mr J Peterson

1 woman elected for 4 years

Dr M Best

1 layman elected for 2 years

Mr T Payne

### 18. SYDNEY ANGLICAN CAR AND INSURANCE FUND BOARD

(Ordinance 1999)

1 member of the clergy elected for 3 years

The Rev E Brush

2 laypersons elected for 3 years

Mr S P Guthrie

Mr B Robinson

#### 19. SYDNEY ANGLICAN SCHOOLS CORPORATION

(Ordinance 1947)

8 persons elected for 3 years

The Rev D H Courtney

Mr D Harwin

Mr D Minty

Mr S Poucher

Mrs L C Ramsay

Mrs E Selleck

Dr R Sharp

Mr R J Stevens

1 person elected for 2 years

Ms P Lanser

### 20. SYDNEY CHURCH OF ENGLAND GRAMMAR SCHOOL COUNCIL

(Ordinance 1923)

2 clergymen in priests orders elected for 4 years

The Rev R J Kay

The Rev G K Leader

#### 21. SYDNEY DIOESAN SUPERANNUATION FUND BOARD OF DIRECTORS

(Ordinance 1961)

1 person as an Employer Director elected for 4 years

Mr D A Cannings

#### 22. SYNOD POOL

(Parishes Disputes Ordinance 1999)

1 member of the clergy elected by the clerical members of Synod for 2 years

The Rev G S Matthews

### 23. TARA ANGLICAN SCHOOL FOR GIRLS, THE COUNCIL OF

(Ordinance 1956)

1 member of the clergy elected for 3 years

The Rev A J Heron

1 member of the clergy elected for 2 years

Vacancy to be filled

1 layperson elected for 3 years

Mrs G Akers

# 24. TRINITY GRAMMAR SCHOOL, THE COUNCIL OF

(Ordinance 1928)

2 clergymen elected for 3 years

The Rev A Katay

The Rev J W Wise

2 laypersons elected for 3 years

Mr D Cheetham

Mr P M Meldrum

#### 25. WILLIAM BRANWHITE CLARKE COLLEGE COUNCIL

(Ordinance 1987)

1 clergyman elected for 3 years

The Rev J Barrett

1 layperson elected for 3 years

Mr T Moon

ANDREW SILLAR Returning Officer

I HEREBY DECLARE the persons named in the statement above, elected to the office shown.

PETER F JENSEN
Archbishop of Sydney

18 October 2004

# **Contested elections**

Under clause 5.4(6)(b) of the Schedule to the Synod Elections Ordinance 2000, I hereby report as follows -

- (a) The number of formal and informal ballot papers in each election.
- (b) The following is a complete list of names of the nominees for each office, together with the number of votes recorded for each nominee. The names have been arranged in the order of the number of votes recorded, beginning with the highest with an indication of the name(s) of the persons to be declared elected.

1.	Diocesan Representatives on General Synod	Ballot Papers	Votes Recorded
	Formal	386	
	Informal	1	
	Total	387	
	3 members of the laity elected for 1 year		
	Selden, P A		346
	Orpwood, C M		343
	Tooher, J F		316
	Not elected		
	Spencer, N M		127

**ANDREW SILLAR** 

Returning Officer

20 October 2004

I HEREBY DECLARE the persons named in the statement above, elected to the office shown.

PETER F JENSEN Archbishop of Sydney

25 October 2004