Elections for the 2000 session of the 45th Synod

Uncontested Elections

In accordance with clause 12 of the Elections Ordinance 1970, we hereby certify that the following nominations of persons are not in excess of the number of persons required to be elected.

1. St Andrew's Cathedral Chapter

(Ordinance 1969)

6 lay canons elected for 6 years

Mr N.M. Cameron

Mr A.E. Churches

Mr J. Davis

Mr R. Dredge

Mr D.H. Edwards

Dr R. Shatford

1 lay canon elected for 2 years

Vacancy to be filled.

2. The Council of Abbotsleigh

(Ordinance 1925)

1 clergyman elected for 4 years

The Rev S.G.E. Smith

2 laywomen elected for 4 years

Mrs E. Neal

Mrs W. Tong

3. Anglican Church Property Trust Diocese of Sydney

(Ordinance 1965)

1 person elected for 6 years

Mr G.N. Evans

4. Anglican Retirement Villages Diocese of Sydney

(Ordinance 1961)

1 person elected for 2 years

Mr P. Driscoll

5. Anglican Youth and Education: Diocese of Sydney

(Ordinance 1975)

1 clergy elected for 3 years

The Rev S. Gibson

1 layperson elected for 3 years

Mrs K. Collier

6. Arden Anglican School Council

(Ordinance 1962)

4 persons, at least one of whom must be a clergyman, elected for 3 years

The Rev W. France

Mr K.W. Hayward

Mr I.C. Miller

Mr D.P. Stanton

1 person elected for 1 year

The Rev G.N. Collison

7. Arundel House Council

(Ordinance 1977)

3 persons elected for 3 years

Dr L. Armstrong

Mr T. Moon

Dr S. Tan

1 person elected for 1 year

Mrs M. Wesley

8. Barker College, the Council of

(Ordinance 1978)

1 clergyman elected for 3 years

The Rev G.C.M. Boughton

1 layperson elected for 3 years

Mr A.D. McCarthy

9. Continuing Education for Ministers

(Ordinance 1989)

1 clergyman being an incumbent of an ecclesiastical unit elected for 3 years

The Rev J.R. Gray

1 layperson elected for 3 years

Mr G.S. Maple

10. Diocesan Representatives on Council of Churches in NSW

(Constitution of the Council)

4 persons elected for 2 years

The Hon R.W. Gee

3 Vacancies to be filled by Standing Committee

11. Illawarra Grammar School, the Council of the

(Ordinance 1958)

1 clergyman elected for 4 years

The Rev S.G. Barrett

2 laypersons elected for 4 years

Mr D.W. Burrows

Dr A.R.M. Young

1 layperson elected for 2 years

Mrs H. Webb

12. Macarthur Region Anglican Church School, Council of the

(Ordinance 1982)

2 persons elected for 3 years

Mr M. Bell

Mrs M. Thomas

13. The Mission to Seamen, Sydney Port Committee

(Synod Resolution 10/63)

1 person elected for 2 years

Vacancy to be filled by Standing Committee

14. Moore Theological College Council

(Ordinance 1984)

1 clergyman elected for 3 years

The Rev N.E. Prott

15. Diocesan Representatives on Provincial Synod

(Ordinance 1986)

1 clergyman elected for 2 years

The Rev T.J. Halls

16. St Catherine's School Waverley, Council of

(Ordinance 1922)

1 clergyman elected for 4 years

Vacancy to be filled by Standing Committee

2 laymen elected for 4 years

Mr G. Barraclough

Mr J. Peterson

1 laywoman elected for 4 years

Mrs C. Adams

17. Sydney Anglican Schools Corporation

(Ordinance 1947)

4 persons elected for 3 years

Mr P. Butcher

Dr A. Cole

Archdeacon G. Huard

Mr W.B. Nicholson

18. Synod Pool

(Parishes Disputes Ordinance 1999)

12 clergy, at least 9 of whom are incumbent, elected by the clerical members of Synod

The Rev R.C. Barrie

Canon G.R. Begbie

The Rev Dr R.H. Chilton

Canon I.W. Cox

The Rev D.L. Crain

The Rev B.J. Dudding

Canon J.L. Livingstone

The Rev J.G. Mason

The Rev M.B. Robinson

Canon J.W. South

The Rev Z. Veron

The Rev D.W. Wallace

12 laypersons elected by the lay members of Synod

Mrs W. Colquhoun

Mr D. Francis

Mr A. Frank

Ms F. Hansen

Dr K. Hawtrey

Mrs L. Hicks

Assoc. Prof. M. Horsburgh

Mr D.S. Marr

Mrs L. McCoy

Mr M. Purvis Ms K. Sowada Ms A. Watson

19. Tara Anglican School for Girls, Council of

(Ordinance 1956)

2 clergymen elected for 3 years

The Rev G.R. Begbie Bishop B.F.V. King

2 laypersons elected for 3 years

Mr M. Jones Mr D. Nott

1 clergyman elected for 1 year

The Rev N. Macken

20. Trinity Grammar School, Council of

(Ordinance 1928)

2 clergymen elected for 3 years

The Rev D.H. Courtney The Rev T.J.W. Oakley

2 laypersons elected for 3 years

Mr J.E. Mills Mr R. Pegg

21. William Branwhite Clarke College Council

(Ordinance 1987)

1 clergyman elected for 3 years

The Rev D.W. Gilmour

1 layperson elected for 3 years

Mr B.G. Jones

C.J. MORONEY M.A. PAYNE Secretaries of Synod

31 August 2000

I HEREBY declare the persons concerned elected.

R.H. GOODHEW **Archbishop of Sydney**

9 October 2000

Contested Elections

In accordance with clause 23 of the Elections Ordinance 1970, I hereby report that the following is a complete list of names of the nominees for each office, together with the number of votes recorded for each nominee. The names have been arranged in the order of the number of votes recorded, beginning with the highest.

		Votes Recorded
1.	The Council of Abbotsleigh 2 Laymen elected for 4 years Middlebrook, M M Bradhurst, P	328 267
	Not Elected Bell, P L	252 847
	Informal Ballot Papers	12
2.	Sydney Anglican Home Mission Society (Anglicare) 3 Persons elected for 3 years	
	Willis, D L Gee, R W Hobbs, R	359 336 316
	Not Elected Horsburgh, M D	251 1262
	Informal Ballot Papers	1
3.	Moore Theological College Council 2 Laypersons elected for 3 years	
	Paddison, E A Chapman, K M	348 281
	Not Elected	
	Maple, G S	236 865
	Informal Ballot Papers	3

K.R. BOWDEN
Returning Officer
11 October 2000

I declare these persons elected

R.H. GOODHEW

Archbishop of Sydney

11 October 2000